This forum is in archive mode. You will not be able to post new content.

Author Topic: Programing Help  (Read 5395 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline KoubaK

  • /dev/null
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Cookies: 2
  • Burlao
    • View Profile
Re: Programing Help
« Reply #15 on: May 09, 2013, 10:58:06 PM »
Rav3n, so it should look something like this:
Code: [Select]
Declare K As Integer
Set K = 0
For (K = 0; K < Count; K++)
  If State[K] == "Texas" Then
    Write Names[K]
  Else
    Write "No family members reside in Texas."
  End If
End For
 
« Last Edit: May 09, 2013, 10:59:00 PM by KoubaK »
working on it...

Offline Rav3n

  • Serf
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Cookies: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Programing Help
« Reply #16 on: May 09, 2013, 11:01:29 PM »
in pesudo code .. yes, but don't use else statement or you will end with the result i posted before.

In C++ , inside The for statement you can declare the variable and assign it to a value inside the for command.



Offline ande

  • Owner
  • Titan
  • *
  • Posts: 2664
  • Cookies: 256
    • View Profile
Re: Programing Help
« Reply #17 on: May 09, 2013, 11:02:28 PM »
Rav3n, so it should look something like this:
Code: [Select]
Declare K As Integer
Set K = 0
For (K = 0; K < Count; K++)
  If State[K] == "Texas" Then
    Write Names[K]
  Else
    Write "No family members reside in Texas."
  End If
End For
 

No, that will still be wrong. Should look like this:
Code: [Select]
Declare K As Integer
Declare atLeastOnePrinted as boolean
Set atLeastOnePrinted = false
Set K = 0
For (K = 0; K < Count; K++)
  If State[K] == "Texas" Then
    Write Names[K]
    Set atLeastOnePrinted = true
  End If
End For

If !atLeastOnePrinted then
    Write "No family members reside in Texas."
end if
 


Code: (cpp) [Select]
bool atLeastOnePrinted = FALSE;
for(int i=0;i<=sizeof(States);i++)
{
    if(States[i] == "Texas") {
        cout << "Person: " << Names[i] << " lives in Texas." << endl;
        atLeastOnePrinted = TRUE;
    }
}
if(!atLeastOnePrinted)
    cout << "No family members reside in Texas." << endl;
« Last Edit: May 09, 2013, 11:06:30 PM by ande »
if($statement) { unless(!$statement) { // Very sure } }
https://evilzone.org/?hack=true

Offline KoubaK

  • /dev/null
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Cookies: 2
  • Burlao
    • View Profile
Re: Programing Help
« Reply #18 on: May 09, 2013, 11:15:23 PM »
ande, since I cannot use a boolean (just because it has not been covered in class yet).
would introducing Found back into the pseudo work?
Code: [Select]
Declare K As Integer
Declare Found As Integer
Set Found = 0
Set K = 0
For (K = 0; K < Count; K++)
  If State[K] == "Texas" Then
    Write Names[K]
    Set Found = 1
  End If
End For

If Found == 0 then
    Write "No family members reside in Texas."
end if
working on it...

Offline ande

  • Owner
  • Titan
  • *
  • Posts: 2664
  • Cookies: 256
    • View Profile
Re: Programing Help
« Reply #19 on: May 09, 2013, 11:18:07 PM »
ande, since I cannot use a boolean (just because it has not been covered in class yet).
would introducing Found back into the pseudo work?
Code: [Select]
Declare K As Integer
Declare Found As Integer
Set Found = 0
Set K = 0
For (K = 0; K < Count; K++)
  If State[K] == "Texas" Then
    Write Names[K]
    Set Found = 1
  End If
End For

If Found == 0 then
    Write "No family members reside in Texas."
end if

Yes, that would work just fine :) Basically a boolean is 1 and 0, true and false.
if($statement) { unless(!$statement) { // Very sure } }
https://evilzone.org/?hack=true

Offline Rav3n

  • Serf
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Cookies: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Programing Help
« Reply #20 on: May 09, 2013, 11:22:12 PM »
just replace
Code: [Select]
bool atLeastOnePrinted = FALSE;with
Code: [Select]
int atLeastOnePrinted = 0;

And
Code: [Select]
atLeastOnePrinted = True;with

Code: [Select]
atLeastOnePrinted = 1;
And
Code: [Select]
if(!atLeastOnePrinted)
    cout << "No family members reside in Texas." << endl;
with
Code: [Select]
if(atLeastOnePrinted == 1)

    cout << "No family members reside in Texas." << endl;
In ande's Code

Offline KoubaK

  • /dev/null
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Cookies: 2
  • Burlao
    • View Profile
Re: Programing Help
« Reply #21 on: May 09, 2013, 11:27:28 PM »
Thanks guys... Once I'm done with my other classes I will use the free time to try to actually code the entire program.
working on it...

 



Want to be here? Contact Ande, Factionwars or Kulverstukas on the forum or at IRC.